James 1:12 – The Crown of Life

by | Updated August 2nd, 2021

There are five crowns mentioned in scripture given as reward at the Judgement Seat of Christ. All five crown are covered in this teaching.

Watch the Message

James 1:12 – “Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.”

Temptation or Test

A test is only an enticement to evil if we respond wrongly. God never tests us or entices us to wrong doing. He never tempts us to evil or to sin. The devil tempts us in our areas of weakness to entice us to evil. God tests us in order to reveal to us what our strengths and weaknesses are.

We see this exemplified in the lives of both Abraham (Genesis 22) and Joseph (Genesis 37-50). Both were tested in the area of their strengths and they passed the tests. Once we have passed a particular test we typically don’t have to take it again. However, if we fail a test, we usually will have to retake it until we have passed it.


This is the Greek word “hupomone.” This does not refer to one who sits back and takes all that life throws at them until it is finally over. Rather, it is one who with undaunting perseverance and determination continues pressing forward undeterred by all life throws them (Hebrews 12:1 and Acts 20:24).

The Crown of Life

There is nothing that is endured by a believer that God will not abundantly and adequately compensate. This is the promise of the Lord to all those who love Him. The Apostle Paul said,

Romans 8:18 – “I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

1 Corinthians 2:9 – “As it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.”

The Judgment (Bema) Seat of Christ

The Judgment (Bema) Seat of Christ is a judgment for believers and believers only. This is to be distinguished from the White Throne Judgement in Revelation 20:11-15. The Judgment (Bema) Seat of Christ is a judgment to determine reward, whereas, the White Throne Judgment is a judgment for all who have rejected Christ as Lord and Savior, where they will be judged for their sins and cast into the lake of fire. The believer’s sins have already been judged at the cross.


  1. 2 Corinthians 5:10-11
  2. Romans 14:10-12
  3. 1 Corinthians 3:9-15

Five Crowns Mentioned in Scripture

  1. The Incorruptible Crown – 1 Corinthians 9:24-27.
  2. The Crown of Rejoicing – 1 Thessalonians 2:19-20.
  3. The Crown of Righteousness – 2 Timothy 4:6-8.
  4. The Crown of Glory – 1 Peter 5:1-4.
  5. The Crown of Life – James 1:12.

It’s important to know salvation is a free gift, “not of works lest any man should boast” (Ephesians 2:8-9). On the other hand, reward is earned. Reward is based on our faithful service to the King. Motive is also taken into account. What is done before man to be seen of them will be burned up, whereas what is done before God will pass through the fire of the Judgment Seat of Christ and reward will be given based on our faithful service to the Master (Matthew 6:1-6).

More from this author...